Televac AN 3015:真空校准的推荐做法

说明

This Televac® recommended practices document addresses the general procedure for the best practices for minimizing uncertainty when calibrating thermal conductivity (Televac® 2A and 4A) and cold cathode vacuum gauges(Televac® 7B, 7E, 7F, 7FC, 7FCS), which includes the vacuum sensor(s) and accompanying electronics necessary for a pressure measurement to be made. It also includes the best practices for an in process verification where limitations make it impossible to follow the best practices for minimizing uncertainty.

验证真空计的准确性和操作性对于确保真空下工艺的维护至关重要。

Disclaimer

本文件提出了在只利用最基本设备的情况下尽量减少不确定性的最佳做法。本文件并不试图提供不确定性的定义,也不试图为实地核查提供不确定性评估。

本文件不涉及使用爆炸性或冷凝性气体的系统。

背景介绍

自20世纪上半叶以来,热导率和冷阴极压力表一直在使用。目前,热导率计,如皮拉尼、热电偶和热敏电阻类型,为1*10-3托尔至1*103托尔的低真空范围内的压力测量提供了最具成本效益的解决方案。热导率计依靠加热灯丝(或多个灯丝)的热损失这一压力依赖性过程来进行测量。

冷阴极计,如潘宁磁控管、倒置磁控管和双倒置磁控管类型,为1*10-8托尔至1*10-3托尔的高真空范围内的压力测量提供了最耐用的选择。冷阴极计在电磁场的作用下使等离子体电离,并将测量的离子电流与压力联系起来。

Definitions

定义来自JCGM 200:2008国际计量词汇--基本和一般概念及相关术语(VIM)。请参阅参考文献部分了解更多信息。

Reference Standard

指定用于校准某一组织或某一地点某一种类数量的其他测量标准的测量标准。

Verification

提供客观证据,证明某项物品符合具体要求;

校准

在规定的条件下,第一步,在测量标准提供的具有测量不确定度的量值和相应的具有相关测量不确定度的指示之间建立关系的操作,第二步,利用该信息建立从指示中获得测量结果的关系。

Ideal Calibration

理想的校准将寻求最大限度地减少用于校准被测装置的参考标准的所有不确定性。在被测装置的测量范围内,或在被测装置用于控制终端用户所定义的关键过程时,将定期采集传入数据。这些传入的数据应作为基线比较。比较之后,可对被测装置的测量系统进行调整,如改变电子元件或更换传感器,以最大限度地提高被测装置与参考标准之间的一致性。在进行任何调整之后,将进行进一步的比较,并将数据记录为输出数据。

在整个过程中,目标是将测量中的不确定性降到最低,同时将被测装置与参考标准进行比较。本节将介绍在测量中引入不确定性的领域,以及尽量减少不确定性的最佳做法。

Background Gas Contribution

热导率计和冷阴极计都是间接的压力测量,它们依靠测量气体的一种特性并将气体特性与压力联系起来。这些属性与气体类型有关,因此,每种气体的压力测量都与气体类型有关。因此,最好采用向上漏气的方法进行比较,即在所需压力以下抽气,然后向上漏气至所需压力。根据参考标准,最好抽到待比较的最低压力的1%或更低。

Test Gas Admission

由于热导率仪和冷阴极仪对气体的依赖性,比较过程中使用的测试气体应该是正常操作程序中使用的气体。通常是干氮或氩气,但也可以是其他气体。如果可能的话,气体的纯度应达到99%或更高。对比气体应该是没有任何可冷凝蒸汽的干燥源。由于仪器对气体的依赖性,可冷凝的蒸汽会增加不确定性。重要的是,用于比较的参考标准已经用特定的测试气体进行了校准,或者具有补偿功能--通过电子装置或参考表自动进行补偿--以减少不确定性。注意:如果使用轻质气体(例如氢气或氦气),由于热导率的不同,可能会达到危险的超压。

最好漏入气体并停留约15秒,以保证供气读数的稳定。对于低于1托尔的比较,最好是在仍有一些抽气的情况下将气体接入系统。这将最大限度地减少比较过程中的出气影响,并使压力更容易控制。对于1托尔以上的比较,不需要抽气,因为与泄漏的气体负荷相比,排气量很小。

Warm Up Time and Ambient Temperature Effects

热导率仪在很大程度上取决于环境的温度。通常制造商会利用热补偿的方法来减少误差。冷阴极计对温度也很敏感,但不如热导率计敏感。为了最大限度地减少不确定性,测量仪应处于制造商规定的环境温度下,以达到最大精度。这个温度一般在20 C和25 C之间,环境温度至少应在制造商规定的工作温度范围内。

为了减少不确定性,在比较之前,应让压力表达到稳定的工作温度。这通常称为预热时间。许多制造商规定了最短的预热时间。如果没有规定,通常15分钟是允许的最短时间。

对于冷阴极测量仪来说,预热时间对于调理冷阴极的表面也是有用的,因为冷阴极的表面可能会有水蒸气或其他蒸汽凝结在上面,在泵下来之前。

让冷阴极在低压下运行,可以使这种调理发生,减少不确定性。制造商可能对这一时间有具体建议。通常15分钟是最短的允许时间。

Geometric Concerns and Pressure Gradients

根据试验室的布局、局部放气以及阀门、泵和压力表的位置,整个试验室的压力会发生变化。压力测量,特别是那些用热导率计进行的测量,可能会受到气体流动或辐射热源的影响。用冷阴极计进行的压力测量可能会受到炉膛内离子源的影响。

为了最大限度地减少测量的不确定性,参考仪器和被测装置应对称地放置在试验室中,并且在试验室中不应与其他仪器、质谱仪、加热丝、进气阀或其他类似的特征有一线之隔。

同时注意参考标准和被测单位的正确方位。虽然冷阴极没有特定的方向性,但热表根据其方向性,在1托尔以上的压力测量上会有很大差异。

In Process Verification

虽然第4节中的描述是作为理想的比较而提出的,但真空用户可能无法看到所有或甚至任何条件都得到满足。即使是在有限的控制下,在将被测设备与参考标准进行比较的同时,将测量的不确定性降到最低的目标仍然是最重要的。因此,下面为用户介绍了最小泄漏控制的最佳实践。

Place References on Chamber with a Tee Cross

参考压力表应与被测装置一起用三通横片放在试验室上。为了验证,参考量具应与同类型的传感器一起放在三通上。例如,如果用一个冷阴极计和一个热导率计来验证另一个冷阴极计和另一个热导率计,参考电导率计应与被测装置的电导率计放在同一个三通上,同样,两个冷阴极计也应放在同一个三通上。各自的方向应完全相同,如有可能,应使用相同类型的接头。

Pump Down and Warm Up

如果可行的话,最好将参考压力表安装在箱体上,并在操作压力表的同时将泵降至箱体的极限压力。在达到极限压力后,应允许参考压力表和被测装置运行15分钟。这将使传感器在与被测装置相同的气体种类中进行调节,更接近压力表的条件,并使其与环境温度达到热平衡。

如果这需要运行一个可能会污染参考仪表的过程,最好跳过下泵,只需在大气中操作热导率仪表15分钟后再进行下一步操作即可。

Vent with Test Gas

在抽气至试验室的极限压力并预热参考仪表和被测装置后,用干燥和纯净(99%或更高)的测试气体将系统排放到大气中。这将限制试验室中的蒸汽量,并将气体成分的不确定性降至最低。

Pump Down and Dwell Time

在向大气排放后,开始将腔室泵送至最接近验证所需大气压力的压力。尽可能接近所需压力时停止抽气。如果该点高于0.1托尔,停留时间应约为15秒,以便可以获得稳定的读数。低于0.1托尔,腔室出气开始变得显著,因此有必要进行抽气。为了实现稳定的测量,最好是在测量室的极限压力--由于粗加工泵--已经达到后再进行测量。

在1*10-3托尔以下的高真空中,最好是在气室的极限压力下进行比较。在极限压力下的停留时间至少应该是15分钟,以确保读数稳定,且腔室中的压力不再变化。由于缺乏可控的泄漏,不太可能对超过极限压力的点进行比较。

References

要进一步阅读真空计、校准和术语的一般定义,以下参考资料是一个很好的介绍。

Hanlon, J. F. (2003).A User's Guide to Vacuum Technology, Third Edition.John Wiley & Sons, Inc., Hoboken CGM 200:2008 国际计量词汇--基本和一般概念及相关术语(VIM)

JCGM 100:2008 测量数据的评价--测量不确定度表达指南。

R.E.Ellefson和A.P.Miller,J. Vac.Sci.Technol.A 18, 2568 (2000)A 18, 2568 (2000)

Tilford, C. R.(1991年)。压力和真空测量,载于《化学的物理方法》,第2章,第6卷(B.W.Rossiter,J.F.Hamilton和R.C.Baetzold,编辑),Interscience,纽约。

TELEVAC AN 3015: Recommended Practices for Vacuum Calibration

1 Scope

1.1 Purpose

This Televac recommended practices document addresses the general procedure for the best practices for minimizing uncertainty when calibrating thermal conductivity (Televac 2A and 4A) and cold cathode vacuum gauges(Televac 7B, 7E, 7F, 7FC, 7FCS), which includes the vacuum sensor(s) and accompanying electronics necessary for a pressure measurement to be made. It also includes the best practices for an in process verification where limitations make it impossible to follow the best practices for minimizing uncertainty.

Verifying the accuracy and operation of vacuum gauges is critical to ensuring the maintenance of processes under vacuum.

1.2 Disclaimer

This document presents the best possible practices for minimizing uncertainty while only utilizing the most basic equipment. This document does not seek to provide a definition for uncertainty, nor an uncertainty assessment for field verification.

This document does not address systems where explosive or condensing gases are used.

2 Background

Thermal conductivity and cold cathode gauges have been in use since the first half of the 20th century. Currently thermal conductivity gauges, such as the pirani, thermocouple, and thermistor types, offer the most cost effective solutions for pressure measurement in the low vacuum range of 1×10-3 Torr to 1×103 Torr. Thermal conductivity gauges rely on the pressure dependent process of heat loss from a heated filament (or multiple filaments) to make a measurement.

Cold cathode gauges, such as Penning magnetrons, inverted magnetrons, and double inverted magnetron types, offer the most durable options for pressure measurement in the high vacuum range from 1×10-8 Torr to 1×10-3 Torr. Cold cathode gauges ionize plasma in the presence of an electromagnetic field and relate the measured ion current to a pressure.

3 Definitions

Definitions from JCGM 200:2008 International vocabulary of metrology – Basic and general concepts and associated terms (VIM). Please see the References section for more information.

3.1 Reference Standard

Measurement standard designated for the calibration of other measurement standards for quantities of a given kind in a given organization or at a given location.

3.2 Verification

Provision of objective evidence that a given item fulfils specified requirements.

3.3 Calibration

Operation that, under specified conditions, in a first step, establishes a relation between the quantity values with measurement uncertainties provided by measurement standards and corresponding indications with associated measurement uncertainties and, in a second step, uses this information to establish a relation for obtaining a measurement result from an indication.

4 Ideal Calibration

An ideal calibration would seek to minimize all uncertainty for the reference standard used to calibrate a unit under test. Incoming data would be taken at regular intervals in the range of measurement of the unit under test or where the unit under test is used to control a critical process as defined by the end user. This incoming data should serve as a baseline comparison. Following this comparison, adjustments may be made to the unit under test measurement system, such as a change to the electronics or replacement of sensors, to maximize the agreement between the unit under test and the reference standard. After any adjustments, a further comparison would be made and data would be recorded as outgoing data.

Throughout this process, the goal is to minimize uncertainty in measurement while comparing the unit under test to the reference standard. This section will present areas where uncertainty is introduced to the measurement and the best practices to minimize their contributions.

4.1 Background Gas Contribution

Both thermal conductivity gauges and cold cathode gauges are indirect pressure measurements that rely on measuring a property of the gas and relating that gas property to the pressure. These propertiesare gas type dependent and as such, the measurement of pressure for each is gas type dependent. As such, it is best to perform a comparison by the leak up method of pumping below the desired pressure and leaking up to the desired pressure. It is best to pump down to 1% or less, according the reference standard, of the lowest pressure to be compared.

4.2 Test Gas Admission

Due to the gas dependence of thermal conductivity gauges and cold cathode gauges, the test gas used during comparison should be the gas to be used during normal operating procedures. Often this is dry nitrogen or argon but could be another gas. The purity of the gas should be 99% or higher if possible. The comparison gas should be a dry source without any condensable vapors. Condensable vapors will raise the uncertainty due to the gas dependence of the gauges. It is important that the reference standard used for comparison has been calibrated using the specific test gas or possesses compensation – either automatically through the electronics or via a reference table – to minimize uncertainty. Caution: dangerous overpressures can be reached if using a light gas (Hydrogen or Helium for example) due to the difference in thermal conductivity.

It is best to leak in the gas and dwell for approximately 15 seconds to ensure a stable reading of the gas supply. For comparison below 1 Torr, it is best if gas is admitted to the system while there is still some pumping. This will minimize the effect of outgassing during comparison and allow for the pressure to be more easily controlled. For comparison above 1 Torr, no pumping is necessary since outgassing is small compared to the leaked gas load.

4.3 Warm Up Time and Ambient Temperature Effects

Thermal conductivity gauges depend heavily on the ambient temperature of the environment. Often manufacturers utilize a method of thermal compensation to minimize errors. Cold cathode gauges are also sensitive to temperature but are less so than thermal conductivity gauges. To minimize uncertainty, gauges should be at the ambient temperature specified by manufacturers for maximum accuracy. This temperature is generally between 20 C and 25 C. At minimum, the ambient temperature should be within the specified operating temperatures as defined by the manufacturers.

To decrease uncertainty, the gauges should be allowed to reach a stable operating temperature before comparison. This is often called a warm up time. Many manufacturers specify a minimum warm up time. If not specified, 15 minutes is generally the minimum allowable time.

For cold cathode gauges, the warm up time is also useful for conditioning the surfaces of the cold cathode that may have water vapor or other vapor condensed on them from before pump down.

Allowing cold cathodes to operate at low pressures will allow for this conditioning to happen and decreases uncertainty. Manufacturers may have specific recommendations for this time. Often 15 minutes is the minimum allowable time.

4.4 Geometric Concerns and Pressure Gradients

Pressure can vary throughout a chamber based on the layout of the chamber, local outgassing, and location of valves, pumps, and gauges. Pressure measurements, particularly those made with thermal conductivity gauges, can be influenced by gas flows or sources of radiative heat. Pressure measurements made by cold cathode gauges can be influenced by ion sources in the chamber.

To minimize uncertainty in measurements, reference gauges and the units under test should be located symmetrically in the chamber and should not have a line of sight, within the chamber, to other gauges, mass spectrometers, heated filaments, inlet valves, or other similar features.

Also note the correct orientation for both reference standards and units under test. While cold cathodes are not orientation specific, thermal gauges can vary widely above 1 Torr for pressure measurement based on their orientation.

5 In Process Verification

While the descriptions in Section 4 are presented as the ideal comparison, vacuum users may not be able to see that all or even any of the conditions are met. Even with limited control, the goal of minimizing uncertainty in measurement while comparing the unit under test to the reference standard remains paramount. As such, below is presented the best practices for users with minimal leak control.

5.1 Place References on Chamber with a Tee Cross

Reference gauges should be placed onto the chamber with the units under test using a tee cross piece. For verification, reference gauges should be placed onto the tee with sensors of the same type. For instance, if a cold cathode gauge and a thermal conductivity gauge are being used to verify another cold cathode gauge and another thermal conductivity gauge, the reference conductivity gauge should be placed on the same tee as the unit under test conductivty gauge and likewise for the two cold cathode gauges. The orientation of each should be identical and the same types of fittings used if possible.

5.2 Pump Down and Warm Up

If feasible, it is best to mount the reference gauges on the chamber and pump down to the ultimate pressure of the chamber while operating the gauges. The reference gauges and units under test should be allowed to operate for 15 minutes after the ultimate pressure is reached. This will allow the sensors to be conditioned in the same gas species as the unit under test and more closely approximate the conditions in the gauges as well as allowing for thermal equilibrium to be reach with the ambient temperature.

If this requires running a process that may contaminate the reference gauges, it is best to skip the pump down and simply proceed to the next step after operating the thermal conductivity gauges at atmosphere for 15 minutes instead.

5.3 Vent with Test Gas

After pumping down to the ultimate pressure of the chamber and warming up the references gauges and units under test, vent the system to atmosphere with a dry and pure (99% or higher) test gas. This will limit the amount of vapors in the chamber as well as minimizing gas composition uncertainties.

5.4 Pump Down and Dwell Time

After venting to atmosphere, begin pumping the chamber to the pressure closest to atmospheric pressure that verification is desired. Stop pumping as close to the desired pressure as possible. If the point is above 0.1 Torr, the dwell time should be approximately 15 seconds so that a stabile reading can be obtained. Below 0.1 Torr, chamber outgassing begins to become significant so pumping is necessary. To achieve a stable measurement, it is best to measure once the ultimate pressure of the chamber – due to the roughing pump – has been reached.

In high vacuum, below 1×10-3 Torr, a comparison is best made at the ultimate pressure of the chamber. The dwell time at the ultimate pressure should be 15 minutes at minimum to ensure that the readings are stable and the pressure in the chamber is no longer changing. It is unlikely that more points than the ultimate pressure can be compared given the lack of a controlled leak.

6 References

For further reading on vacuum gauges, calibration and general definition of terms, the following references provide a good introduction.

Hanlon, J. F. (2003). A User’s Guide to Vacuum Technology, Third Edition. John Wiley & Sons, Inc., Hoboken CGM 200:2008 International vocabulary of metrology — Basic and general concepts and associated terms (VIM)

JCGM 100:2008 Evaluation of measurement data — Guide to the expression of uncertainty in measurement

Recommended practice for calibrating vacuum gauges of the thermal conductivity type R. E. Ellefson and A. P.Miller, J. Vac. Sci. Technol. A 18, 2568 (2000)

Tilford, C. R. (1991). Pressure and vacuum measurements, in Physical Methods of Chemistry, Chap. 2, Vol. VI (B.W. Rossiter, J. F. Hamilton, and R. C. Baetzold, eds.), Interscience, New York.