薄膜沉积

薄膜被认为是表面上的一层,其厚度从几分之一纳米(10-9米)到微米(10-6米)不等,在真空中进行薄膜镀膜主要有两种方法。第一个是PVD或物理气相沉积,第二个是CVD或化学气相沉积。PVD涉及粒子的物理运动,而CVD涉及化学反应。请注意,薄膜沉积还有许多其他类型和子集,但PVD和CVD是本文讨论的唯一两种。

对于PVD,有两种主要方法;蒸发和溅射。蒸发和溅射通常在真空下进行,原因是随着压力的降低(或系统在真空中的深度),蒸汽压力(物质从固体/液体变为气体的压力)降低,因此可以使用较低的温度。这有助于防止高温对被涂物的任何负面影响。此外,去除PVD的气氛,可以让蒸发的材料更直接地到达被涂物。

 

从下面的图A和图B可以看出,蒸发是相当直接的。真空室被抽空并施加热量,薄膜材料被蒸发到物体上。溅射稍微复杂一些,真空室和涂层材料之间应用了电位差。然后将惰性气体(如氩气)添加到真空室中,导致放电,将涂层材料分散到物体上。

CVD工艺涉及使用一种材料与被涂层物体上的另一种材料反应或分解。这通常是通过加热激活的,但在某些情况下也可以使用光或等离子体作为催化剂。正因为如此,CVD工艺往往在更高的温度下运行,这可能是一个问题,这取决于被涂覆的物体。

薄膜沉积有多种应用,包括:?

半导体制造、太阳能电池板、电池、电动操作涂层、产品表面处理,如装饰涂层、光学涂层或保护涂层。

那么哪些Televac产品对薄膜沉积有用呢?首先是MX200真空控制器4A/7B真空计组合。这将提供从大气压(1000 Torr)到10-7Torr的真空测量。传感器通过电缆与控制器连接,可以实现远程显示,并且有许多模拟和数字通信选项,包括模拟0至10 V DC、EthernetIP、RS-232/RS-485和USB。

另一种选择是使用有源真空计。使用有源真空计,控制电子元件直接安装在传感元件上,在这种情况下,我们至少要使用两个有源真空计;MX4A热电偶真空计用于测量从大气压(1000 Torr)到10-3Torr,MX7B冷阴极真空计用于测量从10-3Torr到10-8Torr。类似的输出选项有模拟0至10 V DC、以太网IP和RS-485。请注意,许多有源真空计可以串联在一起,各种真空计可以用来实现与本文概述的不同测量范围。

请注意,这篇文章与我们关于半导体制造的文章密切相关,因为薄膜工艺被用于半导体制造

产品介绍

Televac真空控制器真空控制单元真空压力控制器,MX200,Fredericks,215 947 2500。

MX200真空控制器

- 1×10-11托尔至1×104托尔。
- 最多可控制10个Televac真空计。
- 易于阅读的OLED显示屏

Televac 真空计 对流计 pirani 真空传感器

4A对流

- 1×10-3托尔至1000托尔。
- 毫秒级响应时间
- 紧凑、坚固的设计

Televac真空计冷阴极计笔宁电离计

7B 潘宁磁控冷阴极

- 1×10-7托尔至1×10-3托尔。
- 坚固且高度抗污染
- 易于拆卸和清洁

对流真空计 pirani, MX4A, Televac The Fredericks Company, 215 947 2500.

MX4A对流主动式仪表

- 1×10-4托尔至1000托尔。
- 传感器易于更换
- 抗污染

Televac真空计冷阴极电离计笔宁电离计

MX7B冷阴极有源表

- 1×10-3托尔至1×10-8托尔。
- 坚固且高度抗污染
- 简单地将传感器与电子元件断开
- 多色OLED显示屏,具有完整的菜单功能。

Thin Film Deposition

A thin film is considered a layer on a surface which ranges in thickness from fractions of a nanometer (10-9 meters) to micrometers (10-6 meters) and there are two main methods used for thin film coating in vacuum. The first is PVD or physical vapor deposition and the second is CVD or chemical vapor deposition. PVD involves the physical movement of particles, whereas CVD involves a chemical reaction. Note that there are many other types and subsets of thin film deposition, but PVD and CVD are the only two discussed in this article.

With PVD, there are two primary methods; evaporation and sputtering. Evaporation and sputtering are often done under vacuum, the reason being that as pressure decreases (or as the system goes deeper in vacuum), the vapor pressure (pressure at which the substance changes from a solid/liquid to a gas) decreases, so lower temperatures can be used. This helps prevent any negative effects of high temperatures on the object being coated. Additionally, removing atmosphere for PVD allows the evaporated material a more direct path to the object that’s being coated.

 

As you can see from Chart A and Chart B below, evaporation is fairly straightforward. The chamber is evacuated and heat is applied and the film material is evaporated onto the object. Sputtering is slightly more complex, with a potential difference applied between the vacuum chamber and the coating material. Inert gas, like argon, is then added to the chamber which causes an electric discharge, dispersing the coating material onto the object.

CVD processes involve using one material to react with or decompose another material on the object being coated. This is typically activated by heat, but can also use light or plasma as a catalyst in certain cases. Because of this, CVD processes tend to run at much higher temperatures, which can be problematic depending on the object that’s being coated.

Thin film deposition has a variety of applications including:

Semiconductor manufacturing, solar panels, batteries, electrically operating coatings, product finishing such as decorative coatings, optical coatings, or protective coatings.

So which Televac products are useful for thin film deposition? The first is the MX200 vacuum controller with a 4A/7B vacuum gauge combination. This will give vacuum measurement from atmosphere (1000 Torr) down to 10-7 Torr. The sensors are connected to the controller with cables, allowing for a remote display, and many analog and digital communication options are available including analog 0 to 10 V DC, EthernetIP, RS-232/RS-485, and USB.

Another option is to take the route of using active gauges. With active gauges the control electronics are mounted directly on the sensing element, and in this case we’d use at least two active gauges; the MX4A thermocouple vacuum gauge for measurement from atmosphere (1000 Torr) to 10-3 Torr, and the MX7B cold cathode vacuum gauge for measurement from 10-3 Torr to 10-8 Torr. Similar output options are available of analog 0 to 10 V DC, EthernetIP, and RS-485. Note that many active gauges can be chained together and various gauges can be used to achieve different ranges of measurement than what’s outlined in this article.

Note that this article is closely tied to our article about semiconductor manufacturing as thin film processes are used for semiconductor manufacturing.

Products

Televac Fredericks vacuum control unit vacuum controller vacuum pressure controller

MX200 Vacuum Controller

• 1 × 10-11 Torr  to 1 × 104 Torr
• Control up to 10 Televac vacuum gauges
• Easy-to-read OLED display

Televac vacuum gauge convection gauge pirani vacuum transducer

4A Convection

• 1 × 10-3 Torr to 1000 Torr
• Millisecond response time
• Compact, robust design

Televac vacuum gauge cold cathode gauge penning ionization gauge

7B Penning Magnetron Cold Cathode

• 1×10-7 Torr to 1×10-3 Torr
• Robust and highly contamination resistant
• Easy to disassemble and clean

Televac vacuum gauge pressure measurement vacuum gauge application

MX4A Convection Active Gauge

• 1×10-4 Torr to 1000 Torr
• Sensors easy to replace
• Contamination resistant

Televac vacuum gauge cold cathode ionization gauge penning ionization gauge

MX7B Cold Cathode Active Gauge

• 1×10-3 Torr to 1×10-8 Torr
• Robust and highly resistant to contamination
• Simple to disconnect sensor from electronics
• Multi-color OLED display with full menu functionality